Original article

Experience of Outpatient Rehabilitation of Patients after Pneumonia Associated with the New Coronavirus Infection COVID-19

1 ORCIDIrina A. Nesina, 2 ORCIDElena A. Golovko, 3 ORCIDAlexander V. Shakula, 2 ORCIDNatalia N. Figurenko, 1 ORCIDIrina G. Zhilina, 2 ORCIDTatiana N. Khomchenko, 1 ORCIDElena L. Smirnova, 1 ORCIDValeria S. Chursina, 2 ORCIDAnna V. Koroleva

1 Novosibirsk State Medical University, Novosibirsk, Russian Federation
2 State Novosibirsk Regional Clinical Hospital of War Veterans, Novosibirsk, Russian Federation
3 National Medical Research Center of Rehabilitation and Balneology, Moscow, Russian Federation


Abstract:

The revealed functional disorders in patients who have suffered pneumonia associated with the new coronavirus infection COVID-19 require long-term rehabilitation, in particular in outpatient environment.

AIM. To evaluate the effectiveness of outpatient rehabilitation of patients who have suffered pneumonia associated with the new coronavirus infection COVID-19.

MATERIAL AND METHODS. The study included 72 patients after mild to moderate pneumonia associated with the new coronavirus infection COVID-19. The main group included 37 patients who underwent comprehensive rehabilitation, including physical therapy, massage, magnetic therapy, speleotherapy, cognitive behavioral therapy, and drug therapy. The comparison group (35 patients) received physical therapy, magnetic therapy and drug therapy. The effectiveness of therapy was assessed on the basis of standardized questionnaires and scales: Asthenia scale (MFI-20), Anxiety and Depression scale (HADS), mMRC and Borg dyspnea scales, clinical and laboratory examination data. The quality of life of patients in the dynamics of rehabilitation was assessed by the quality of life questionnaire (EQ-5D).

RESULTS AND DISCUSSION. In the main group of patients, the effectiveness of rehabilitation was higher relative to the decrease in the severity of dyspnea, asthenia, normalization of lymphocyte levels. In this group, the quality of life improved more significantly on the scales of anxiety/depression and psychoemotional status.

CONCLUSION. The rehabilitation program, which additionally included chest massage, speleotherapy, transcranial electrical stimulation (TES), showed an advantage in improving clinical and laboratory parameters and quality of life in patients who have suffered pneumonia associated with the new coronavirus infection COVID-19.

Keywords: pneumonia associated with the new coronavirus infection COVID-19, medical rehabilitation

Acknowledgments: The study had no sponsorship

Conflict of interest:: The authors declare no apparent or potential conflicts of interest related to the publication of this article.

For citation: Nesina I.A., Golovko E.A., Shakula A.V., Figurenko N.N., Zhilina I.G., Khomchenko T.N., Smirnova E.L., Chursina V.S., Koroleva A.V. Experience of Outpatient Rehabilitation of Patients after Pneumonia Associated with the New Coronavirus Infection COVID-19. Bulletin of Rehabilitation Medicine. 2021; 20 (5): 4-11. https://doi.org/10.38025/2078-1962-2021-20-5-4-11

For correspondence: Irina A. Nesina, e-mail: nesinairina@ngs.ru



References:




Creative Commons License
The content is available under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

Partners

Pirogov
Medic
University
Interregional Fund for Assistance to Relatives of Stroke Patients
Russian Association for Sport Medicine and Rehabilitation of Patients and the Disabled

Sponsor

Оригинальная статья

Опыт амбулаторной реабилитации пациентов, перенесших пневмонию, ассоциированную с новой коронавирусной инфекцией COVID-19

1 ORCIDНесина И.А., 2 ORCIDГоловко Е.А., 3 ORCIDШакула А.В., 2 ORCIDФигуренко Н.Н., 1 ORCIDЖилина И.Г., 2 ORCIDХомченко Т.Н., 1 ORCIDСмирнова Е.Л., 1 ORCIDЧурсина В.С., 2 ORCIDКоролева А.В.

1 Новосибирский государственный медицинский университет Минздрава России, Новосибирск, Россия
2 Государственный Новосибирский областной клинический госпиталь ветеранов войн, Новосибирск, Россия
3 Национальный медицинский исследовательский центр реабилитации и курортологии Минздрава России, Москва, Россия


Резюме:

Выявляемые функциональные нарушения у пациентов, перенесших пневмонию, ассоциированную с новой коронавирусной инфекцией COVID-19, требуют проведения длительной реабилитации и, в частности, в амбулаторно-поликлинических условиях.

Цель. Оценить эффективность амбулаторной реабилитации пациентов, перенесших пневмонию, ассоциированную с новой коронавирусной инфекцией COVID-19.

Материал и методы. В исследование включено 72 пациента, перенесших пневмонию легкой и средней степени тяжести, ассоциированную с новой коронавирусной инфекцией COVID-19. В основную группу вошли 37 пациентов, которым проводилась комплексная реабилитация, включающая ЛФК, массаж, магнитотерапию, спелеолечение, когнитивно-поведенческую терапию, медикаментозную терапию. Группа сравнения (35 пациентов) получала ЛФК, магнитотерапию и медикаментозную терапию. Эффективность терапии оценивалась на основании стандартизированных опросников и шкал: шкале Астении (MFI-20), шкале тревоги и депрессии (HADS), шкал одышки mMRC и Борга, данным клинико-лабораторного обследования. Качество жизни пациентов в динамике реабилитации оценивали по опроснику качества жизни (EQ-5D).

Результаты и обсуждение. В основной группе пациентов эффективность реабилитации была выше относительно уменьшения выраженности одышки, астении, нормализации уровня лимфоцитов. В данной группе более существенно улучшилось качество жизни по шкалам тревога/депрессия и психоэмоциональный статус.

Заключение. Программа реабилитации, которая дополнительно включала массаж грудной клетки, спелеотерапию, транскраниальную электрическую стимуляцию (ТЭС), показала преимущество в отношении улучшения клинико-лабораторных показателей и качества жизни у пациентов, перенесших пневмонию, ассоциированную с новой коронавирусной инфекциейCOVID-19.

Ключевые слова: пневмония, ассоциированная с новой коронавирусной инфекцией COVID-19, медицинская реабилитация

Для цитирования: Несина И.А., Головко Е.А., Шакула А.В., Фигуренко Н.Н., Жилина И.Г., Хомченко Т.Н., Смирнова Е.Л., Чурсина В.С., Королева А.В. Опыт амбулаторной реабилитации пациентов, перенесших пневмонию, ассоциированную с новой коронавирусной инфекцией COVID-19. Вестник восстановительной медицины. 2021; 20 (5): 4-11. https://doi.org/10.38025/2078-1962-2021-20-5-4-11



Список литературы:




Creative Commons License
Контент доступен под лицензией Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.



Партнеры

Российский национальный исследовательский медицинский университет имени Н.И.Пирогова
Межрегиональный фонд помощи родственникам больных с инсультом
Российская ассоциация по спортивной медицине и реабилитации больных и инвалидов

Спонсоры