Original article

Influence of Ketogenic Diet and Nutraceutical Correction in the Complex Treatment of Lower Limbs Lipedema



1 ORCIDTatyana V. Apkhanova, 1 ORCIDValery N. Sergeev, 1 ORCIDMarina M. Krukova, 1 ORCIDValeria A. Vasilyeva, 1 ORCIDDetelina B. Kulchitskaya, 1 ORCIDTatyana V. Konchugova, 2 ORCIDSergey V. Sapelkin

1 National Medical Research Center of Rehabilitation and Balneology, Moscow, Russian Federation
2 Vishnevsky National Medical Research Center of Surgery, Moscow, Russian Federation


ABSTRACT

Currently, the ketogenic diet (KD) is used to treat obesity. A prospective study on the use of KD and nutraceutical correction of the nutritional status of patients with lipedema was carried out.

AIM. To study the effect of the ketogenic diet, accompanied by correction of changes in the intestinal microbiome and hepatoprotection,on the reduction of fatty deposits in lipedema and the dynamics of changes in lipid and carbohydrate metabolism hormones.

MATERIAL AND METHODS. 60 patients with lower limb lipedema of stages I-III were randomized into 2 groups: Group 1 received a lowcalorie diet (LCD), physical exercises in the gym (PE), and physical activity (FA) in the form of daily walking up to 3-5 km/ day. Group 2 received a modified version of the Atkins ketogenic diet, physical exercises in the gym and FA, as well as nutraceutical correction of increased appetite, probiotic intestinal composition, hepatoprotection. The duration of the treatment course was 4 weeks. Anthropometric methods and bioimpedansometry were used to control limb circumferences, waist and thigh.

RESULTS AND DISCUSSION. After treatment, patients in 1st group showed a decrease in body weight, lean and active cell mass, a decrease in musculoskeletal mass, and a decrease in total water due to extracellular water. A decrease in total cholesterol and high density lipoproteins (HDL) fraction, an increase in blood triglyceride fraction was noted. Leptin decreased by 12.73%. Patients of the 2nd group showed a decrease in body weight, fat mass, lean mass, total water and extracellular water. There was a decrease in total cholesterol, triglycerides, transaminases. Leptin decreased by 32.02%, insulin decreased by 9.87%. To prevent the development of fatty hepatosis against the background of the use of KD, patients of the 2nd group received nutraceutical correction: hepatoprotector Gepamin, metaprebiotic Stimbifid-plus, modulating the formation of resident intestinal microbiota. To reduce appetite, the patients of the 2nd group were also prescribed anorexic - an algal product Nativ containing the polysaccharide fucoidan, having a prebiotic effect. Improvement of reparative processes in the liver, suppression of oxidative processes also contributed to the restoration of the sensitivity of insulin receptors, which was confirmed by the normalization of the lipid-carbohydrate spectrum of blood in patients of the 2nd group after the course of the treatment. The insulin decrease in patients of Group 2 indicated not only insulin resistance decrease , but also the lipogenesis decrease and stimulation of lipolysis. Adipose tissue reduction due to lipolysis stimulation was also indicated by a decrease in leptin expression.

CONCLUSION. Thus, a ketogenic diet, accompanied by nutraceutical correction of the intestinal microbiome and hepatoprotection can be effectively used in combination with physical activity in order to reduce body weight, fat mass and edema, as evidenced by a decrease in the expression level of leptin and insulin, correlating with the levels of fat loss and free water.


KEYWORDS: lipedema, lower limbs, ketogenic diet, nutraceuticals, bioimpedansometry, fatty mass, leptin, gut microbiome

Acknowledgments: The study had no sponsorship

Conflict of interest:: The authors declare no apparent or potential conflicts of interest related to the publication of this article.

For citation: Apkhanova T.V., Sergeev V.N., Krukova M.M., Vasilyeva V.A., Kulchitskaya D.B., Konchugova T.V., Sapelkin S.V. Influence of Ketogenic Diet and Nutraceutical Correction in the Complex Treatment of Lower Limbs Lipedema. Bulletin of Rehabilitation Medicine. 2021; 20 (5): 26-36. https://doi.org/10.38025/2078-1962-2021-20-5-26-36

For correspondence: Tatiana V. Apkhanova, e-mail: apkhanova@yandex.ru



References:




Creative Commons License
The content is available under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

©

Эта статья открытого доступа по лицензии CC BY 4.0. Издательство: ФГБУ «НМИЦ РК» Минздрава России.
This is an open article under the CC BY 4.0 license. Published by the National Medical Research Center for Rehabilitation and Balneology.

РЕКЛАМА

Оригинальная статья

Применение кетогенной диеты и нутрицевтической коррекции в комплексном лечении липедемы нижних конечностей

1 ORCIDАпханова Т.В., 1 ORCIDСергеев В.Н., 1 ORCIDКрюкова М.М., 1 ORCIDВасильева В.А., 1 ORCIDКульчицкая Д.Б., 1 ORCIDКончугова Т.В., 2 ORCIDСапелкин С.В.

1 Национальный медицинский исследовательский центр реабилитации и курортологии Минздрава России, Москва, Россия
2 Национальный медицинский исследовательский центр хирургии им. А.В. Вишневского Минздрава России, Москва, Россия


Резюме:

В настоящее время кетодиета (КД) применяется для лечения ожирения. Проведено проспективное исследование по применению КД и нутрицевтической коррекции пищевого статуса пациенток с липедемой.

Цель. Изучить влияние кетодиеты, сопровождающейся коррекцией изменений микробиома кишечника и гепатопротекцией, на редукцию жировых отложений при липедеме и динамику изменения гормонов липидного и углеводного обменов.

Материал и методы. 60 пациенток с липедемой нижних конечностей I-III стадий были рандомизированы на 2 группы: 1-я группа получала низкокалорийную диету, лечебную гимнастику в зале, а также физическую активность (ФА) в виде ежедневной ходьбы до 3-5 км/день. 2-я группа получала модифицированный вариант кетодиеты Аткинса (МКДА), ЛГ в зале и ФА, а также нутрицевтическую коррекцию повышенного аппетита, пробиотического состава кишечника, гепатопротекцию. Длительность курса лечения составила 4 недели. Применялись антропометрические методы контроля окружностей конечностей, талии и бедер и биоимпедансометрия.

Результаты и обсуждение. После проведенного лечения у больных 1-й группы отмечено снижение массы тела, тощей и активной клеточной массы, уменьшение скелетно-мышечной массы, а также уменьшение общей жидкости за счет внеклеточной жидкости. Отмечено снижение общего холестерина и фракции ЛПВП, повышение фракции триглицеридов крови. Лептин снизился на 12,73 %. У больных 2-й группы отмечено снижение массы тела, жировой массы, тощей массы, общей жидкости и внеклеточной жидкости. Произошло снижение общего холестерина, триглицеридов, трансаминаз. Лептин снизился на 32,02%, инсулин снизился на 9,87%. Для предотвращения развития жирового гепатоза на фоне применения КД пациенты 2-й группы получали нутрицевтическую коррекцию: гепатопротектором Гепамин, метапребиотиком Стимбифид-плюс, модулирующим образование резидентной кишечной микробиоты. Для снижения аппетита пациентам 2-й группы также назначался анорексик – водорослевый продукт Натив, содержащий полисахарид фукоидан, обладающий пребиотическим действием. Улучшение репаративных процессов в печени, купирование окислительных процессов способствовало также восстановлению чувствительности инсулиновых рецепторов, что подтвердилось нормализацией липидно-углеводного спектра крови у пациентов 2-йгруппы после курса лечения. Снижение инсулина у пациентов 2-й группы свидетельствовало не только о снижении инсулинорезистентности, но также о снижении липогенеза и стимуляции липолиза. О редукции жировой ткани за счет стимуляции липолиза свидетельствовало также снижение экспрессии лептина.

Заключение. Таким образом, кетогенная диета в сопровождении нутрицевтической коррекции микробиома кишечника и гепатопротекции может эффективно применяться в комплексе с физическими нагрузками с целью снижения массы тела, жировой массы и отеков, о чем свидетельствуют снижение уровня экспрессии лептина и инсулина, коррелирующих с уровнями снижения жировой массы и свободной жидкости.

Ключевые слова: липедема, нижние конечности, кетодиета, нутрицевтики, биоимпедансометрия, жировая масса, лептин, микробиота кишечника

Для цитирования: Апханова Т.В., Сергеев В.Н., Крюкова М.М., Васильева В.А., Кульчицкая Д.Б., Кончугова Т.В., Сапелкин С.В. Применение кетогенной диеты и нутрицевтической коррекции в комплексном лечении липедемы нижних конечностей. Вестник восстановительной медицины. 2021; 20 (5): 26-36. https://doi.org/10.38025/2078-1962-2021-20-5-26-36



Список литературы:




Creative Commons License
Контент доступен под лицензией Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.



Партнеры

Российский национальный исследовательский медицинский университет имени Н.И.Пирогова
Межрегиональный фонд помощи родственникам больных с инсультом
Российская ассоциация по спортивной медицине и реабилитации больных и инвалидов

Спонсоры