Issue 1-22, 2023

Professional Burnout Syndrome in Health Personnel and Social Workers: a Comparative Questionnaire-Based Survey



1 ORCIDOlga I. Hohlova, 1,2 ORCIDElena M. Vasilchenko, 1 ORCIDVadim A. Versh, 3 Olga B. Lazhintseva, 4 Julia V. Archibasova, 5 Natalya V. Tulkina, 2 ORCIDMarina G. Zhestikova

1 Novokuznetsk Scientic and Practical Centre for Medical and Social Expertise and Rehabilitation of Disabled Persons, Novokuznetsk, Russian Federation
2 Novokuznetsk State Institute of Advanced Medical Training — branch of the Russian Medical Academy of ContinuingProfessional Education, Novokuznetsk, Russian Federation
3 Novokuznetsk Clinical Hospital №1, Novokuznetsk, Russian Federation
4 Committee for Social Protection of the Administration of Novokuznetsk, Novokuznetsk, Russian Federation
5 Complex Centre for Social Service of the Population of the Central District of Novokuznetsk, Novokuznetsk, Russian Federation


ABSTRACT

AIM. To perform the comparative assessment of the prevalence of professional burnout symptoms in health personnel and social workers providing services to persons with pronounced disabilities.

MATERIAL AND METHODS. We conducted a survey of employees in two medical institutions (healthcare workers, Group 1, n = 86) and employees in a social service institution (social workers, Group 2, n = 89). The presence of professional burnout was established using Maslach Burnout Questionnaire adapted by N. Vodopyanova.

RESULTS AND DISCUSSION. Signs of professional burnout of different severity were found in 96,6 % of the respondents. High and extremely high levels of psychoemotional exhaustion, depersonalization, reduction of personal achievements were more frequent among health personnel than among social workers: 1,9 times (p = 0,012), 1,6 times (p = 0,033), 2,9 times (p = 0,029) respectively. At the same time, 31.4 % of Group 1 and 7.9 % of Group 2 respondents indicated overwork due to understaffing; 29.1 % and 10.1 %, respectively, indicated frequent need for additional work due to the temporary absence of colleagues. It explains higher levels of professional burnout among employees of medical institutions. At the same time, Group 2 was characterized by a younger age (by 6.5 years on average, p = 0.006) and a shorter work experience in the institution (by 10 years on average, p < 0.001) compared to Group 1, which may indicate both «staff turnover» among social workers and the appearance of conditions in the social service sphere attractive for younger age specialists.

CONCLUSION. Health personnel have higher levels of the professional burnout symptoms more often than social workers, that is probably connected with an increased intensity of labour and overwork.


KEYWORDS: professional burnout; psychoemotional exhaustion; depersonalization; health personnel; social workers

FOR CITATION: Hohlova O.I., Vasilchenko E.M., Versh V.A., Lazhintseva O.B., Archibasova J.V., Tulkina N.V., Zhestikova M.G. Professional Burnout Syndrome in Health Personnel and Social Workers: a Comparative Questionnaire-Based Survey. Bulletin of Rehabilitation Medicine. 2023; 22(1): 87-97. https://doi.org/10.38025/2078–1962–2023–22–1–87–97


References:




Creative Commons License
The content is available under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

©


This is an open article under the CC BY 4.0 license. Published by the National Medical Research Center for Rehabilitation and Balneology.

Выпуск 1-22, 2023

Синдром профессионального выгорания у медицинских и социальных работников



1 ORCIDХохлова О.И., 1,2 ORCIDВасильченко Е.М., 1 ORCIDВерш В.А., 3 Лажинцева О.Б., 4 Арчибасова Ю.В., 5 Тюлькина Н.В., 2 ORCIDЖестикова М.Г.

1 ФГБУ “Новокузнецкий научно-практический центр медико-социальной экспертизы и реабилитации инвалидов” Минтруда России, Новокузнецк, Россия
2 Новокузнецкий институт усовершенствования врачей — филиал ФГБОУ ДПО РМАНПО Минздрава России, Новокузнецк, Россия
3 ГАУЗ “Новокузнецкая городская клиническая больница № 1 имени Г.П. Курбатова”, Новокузнецк, Россия
4 Комитет социальной защиты администрации г. Новокузнецка, Новокузнецк, Россия
5 МБУ Комплексный центр социального обслуживания населения Центрального района г. Новокузнецка, Новокузнецк, Россия


РЕЗЮМЕ

ЦЕЛЬ. провести сравнительную оценку частоты встречаемости симптомов профессионального выгорания у медицинских и социальных работников, оказывающих услуги гражданам с выраженными ограничениями жизнедеятельности.

МАТЕРИАЛ И МЕТОДЫ. Проведено анкетирование сотрудников двух медицинских учреждений (медицинские работники — группа 1, n = 86) и сотрудников учреждения социального обслуживания населения (социальные работники — группа 2, n = 89). Наличие профессионального выгорания выявляли с помощью Опросника выгорания Маслач в адаптации Н.Е. Водопьяновой.

РЕЗУЛЬТАТЫ И ОБСУЖДЕНИЕ. Признаки профессионального выгорания различной степени выраженности обнаружены у 96,6 % респондентов. У медицинских работников чаще, чем у социальных, встречались высокие и крайне высокие уровни симптомов психоэмоционального истощения, деперсонализации, редукции личных достижений: в 1,9 раза (р = 0,012), в 1,6 раза (р = 0,033), в 2,9 раза (р = 0,029) соответственно. При этом 31,4 % респондентов группы 1 и 7,9 % — группы 2 указали на перегруженность работой в связи с недоукомплектованностью штата; 29,1 % и 10,1 % соответственно — на частую необходимость выполнения дополнительной работы в связи с временным отсутствием коллег. Данный факт может объяснить более высокие уровни профессионального выгорания среди сотрудников медицинских учреждений. В то же время группа 2 характеризовалась более молодым, по сравнению с группой 1, возрастом (в среднем на 6,5 лет, р = 0,006), и более коротким стажем работы в учреждении (в среднем на 10 лет, р < 0,001), что может свидетельствовать как о «текучести кадров» среди социальных работников, так и о появлении в сфере социального обслуживания населения условий, привлекательных для специалистов более молодого возраста.

ЗАКЛЮЧЕНИЕ. Медицинские работники, в отличие от социальных, характеризуются более частой встречаемостью высоких уровней симптомов профессионального выгорания, что, возможно, связано с повышенной интенсивностью труда и перегруженностью.


КЛЮЧЕВЫЕ СЛОВА: профессиональное выгорание; психоэмоциональное истощение; деперсонализация; медицинские работники; социальные работники

ДЛЯ ЦИТИРОВАНИЯ: Hohlova O.I., Vasilchenko E.M., Versh V.A., Lazhintseva O.B., Archibasova J.V., Tulkina N.V., Zhestikova M.G. Professional Burnout Syndrome in Health Personnel and Social Workers: a Comparative Questionnaire-Based Survey. Bulletin of Rehabilitation Medicine. 2023; 22(1): 87-97. https://doi.org/10.38025/2078–1962–2023–22–1–87–97



Список литературы:




Creative Commons License
Контент доступен под лицензией Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

©
Эта статья открытого доступа по лицензии CC BY 4.0. Издательство: ФГБУ «НМИЦ РК» Минздрава России.